Waist-up photo of Mike Whitmore leaning on a leather seat

Mike Whitmore

The Mike Whitmore Award for Outstanding Public Service is designed to afford contemporaries in Lorain County public service an opportunity to honor one of their own for achievement, contribution, vision and leadership. Many people have worked for the betterment of Lorain County and its citizens. Mike Whitmore was one of them. Although not elected to a political office, he believed Lorain County could benefit from its communities and agencies working together. It is only appropriate the award bear his name and be given at Lorain County’s largest gathering of community leaders – the Lorain County Community Summit.


Please take a moment to consider nominating a public official for the Whitmore Award.

The deadline for entries is Monday, November 28, 2022.


Bust photo of Donald Romancak

Donald Romancak, Lorain County Stormwater and Community Development Coordinator, is 2021 recipient of the 15th Annual Mike Whitmore Memorial Award for Vision in Government.

2006 Jerry Innes-Assistant County Prosecutor,
2007 Betty Blair -Lorain County Commissioner and Alliance Chair
2008 Ron Twining- Assistant County Administrator- 28 years of public service
2009 Matt Lundy -State Representative 
2010 Virginia Haynes -Wellington Township Trustee, President of the Wellington Area Chamber of Commerce and LCCA Administrative Coordinator
2011 Ken Carney- Lorain County Engineer
2012 Anne Molnar-Lorain City Councilwoman
2013 Frank DiTillio- President of the Lorain County Chamber of Commerce
2014 William Holtzman- Elyria Township Trustee, Alliance Chair
2015 Dr. Roy Church-President of Lorain County Community College
2016 Sharon Pearson- Oberlin City Councilwoman
2017 Rob Scheithauer- Elyria Township Trustee
2018 Dr. Marcia Ballinger-President of Lorain County Community College
2019 Chief Cel Rivera- Retired City of Lorain Chief of Police

2021 Donald Romancak- Lorain County Stormwater and Community Development Coordinator

Mike Whitmore Award 

Past Recipients